by Tami Maiwashe on Thursday, November 22, 2012 at 3:37am ·

I’ll start this off on a tangent (better earlier than later, I believe): there was a time in my life when I absolutely relished and forced everyone else to relish any revelation I had had of a verse.  Lol.  Thought it was greaaaaat for Christian swag 😀  But now as I type this, it does not tell me that I’m amazing or that I am super-Bible-study womaaaaaaan *tum-turruuuuuuuum tatata tuuuuuuummm* (I most certainly am not), but that God is alive and He truly does speak through His Word.  YAY! 😀

So I was led to read about Peter and Jesus, Episode kazillion-and-three: walking on water (Matthew 14:22-33).  Never in my life has this story been so rich for me.  Three things I took home from it:

(a) “…  Then Peter got down out of the boat, walked on the water and came towards Jesus.  But when he saw the wind, he was afraid and, beginning to sink, cried out, ‘Lord, save me!’  Immediately Jesus reached out his hand and caught him.  ‘You of little faith,’ he said, ‘why did you doubt?’ (29ish to 31)

“You of little faith, why did you doubt?” could be seen as a rebuke.  Actually, I’m going to say it was a rebuke.  At first glance though, I thought Peter was being rebuked for having little faith.  But as I read this question now, it sounded like Peter was being rebuked for doubting when he had faith.  Yes, it was little, but not even with little faith should you doubt.  I believe Jesus is saying that even though our faith is little, we can still believe Him for great things AND not doubt.  So don’t wait for a tremendous amount of faith to begin believing Jesus and what He says.  Even that little faith is enough.

(b)  “And when they climbed into the boat, the wind died down.” (32)

This morning I felt God ask me: “How did they get back to the boat?”  I mean, the Bible goes straight from Jesus grabbing Peter’s hand to them now climbing into the boat…  Lol…  Umm…  Well…  we could assume that Peter was teleported, or that Jesus swooped him up in His arms and carried him back, or that Peter then snapped his arm away from Jesus and swam back doing the butterfly…  My opinion?  I think they walked back to the boat.  And I think that’s awesome.  Sometimes we feel like we’ve stuffed something up and by failing at it, God has seen how incapable and incompetent we actually are and is going to demote our purpose and re-write His plans for us with this ‘new’ insight that He has into our abilities.  We feel like we’ve let God down and we didn’t walk on water so that chapter’s closed and officially reserved for more spiritual, focussed people and as for us, we’ll just stick to walking on land.  But for Jesus to grab our hands, pull us back up onto the water and do a re-try on the water-walking…  that’s cool and unexpected.  “So soon, Jesus?  What in me has changed?  Won’t I just sink again?”  That little faith is enough.  He isn’t disappointed.  He isn’t re-thinking His decision about you.  He still believes you can.  So grab His hand, get up, and do the water-walk 🙂

(c) Verse 32 again.  I love.  When did the wind die down?  I’ve always imagined it stopping as Jesus heroically takes Peter’s hand.  Ah, the stuff of movies.  But no, even as Jesus did that, the wind raged.  Even as they walked back to the boat, the wind was howling and water was rising up and splashing against them arhythmically.  Not even when they reached the boat did the wind courteously congratulate Peter on his courage.  But only when they climbed into the boat, when the wind wasn’t even thaaaaat much of a fuss anymore (I mean, even if the boat were to capsize now, everyone had seen how the water-walk’s done, so they would have just water-walked themselves to safety lol) — only then did the wind die down.  I love that Jesus didn’t lower the bar after Peter’s blunder.  It wasn’t like a “Oh, maybe the wind was a bit much there; let’s tone it down so little Peter can get the water-walk right” kinda thing.  The confidence that God has in us is CRAZY.  Our little faith + our will is all He wants of us, and He’ll use that to change a whole world.  But yeah.  After that whole water-walking spiel (lol), dudes in the boat were able to “[worship] him [Jesus], saying, ‘Truly you are the Son of God.'” (v. 33)  (Note to glory-seeking Christians like the old me: the disciples did NOT say, “Truly, Peter, you are the man.” Lol!)  Oh man, I feel like that’s a point (d) right there.  Lol!  Our struggles, our survival, our water-walking, even after a sinking moment, they glorify God and make Him known unto mankind.

I pray that this note will encourage and uplift.  May we go out there and be confident water-walkers, with whatever amount of faith that is in our hearts.  Where we’ve fallen, may we reach out and grab Jesus’ hand and not give up, but water-walk once again.  And may we dare not hide our testimony.  It brings glory to God and hope and encouragement to those around us! 🙂

Leave a Reply

